Spike2 Software and logging in different users

Discussions and questions about topics not covered above
desheah

Spike2 Software and logging in different users

Unread postby desheah » 06 Dec 2019, 17:00

Hello,
I am a lab manager in which we recently set up an ephysiology workstation to mimic a collaborators who came and installed it for us. Our lab is very new to all of this, let me start out by saying. An issue that we have is that as an administrator of the computer, I installed the software under my username/password. When someone else wants to use the software, they need me to log in since the software requires access to two folders called spike and spike share. If they log in with their username/password, they only have access to spike share folder and the software won't run properly. Is there a work around for this? Our IT department here is not able/possibly willing to have a shared login for this computer. Thanks in advance!

Greg Smith
Major contributor
Software used: Spike2 and Signal
1401 type: Many 1401 types

Re: Spike2 Software and logging in different users

Unread postby Greg Smith » 06 Dec 2019, 18:38

I am assuming that we are talking about the situation where you have installed Spike2 as the administrator of a machine and you have users who are not administrators trying to use it.

You have not told me which version of Spike2 you are using or your serial number, but assuming it is a supported version (9 or 10) or at least 8, you will find information in the online help:

Table of Contents
General information
Folders (or where are my files)

Please read this and see if creating the folders suggested there gets you going. For each user, you need to create the folders (SpikeN stands for Spike10 or Spike9 or Spike8). The first folder is:

My Documents\SpikeN